Fight Club

fight-club-book

I am breaking both the first and second rules of fight club – I am talking about fight club.

I found this book at one of my favorite discount book stores – Book Off. They have a section of the store dedicated to $1 books and usually it is very easy to walk away with at least 2 – 5 books per visit. I was drawn to Fight Club by Chuck Palahniuk for a few reasons. Number one, I had never read the author before and thought Fight Club  would be a good introduction to his writing style. Number two, the praise and cultural phenomena behind the book is so well known – I felt like it would be a guarantee good read. Besides, how else was I gonna spend $1?

In One Sentence: A man self-destructs.

Favorite Line: “What you see at fight club is a generation of men raised by women.”  – p. 50

Review: The story is told be a main narrator who sort of follows along the orders of his friend Tyler Durden. He is something of an untrustworthy narrator, telling events out of order and at times misinterpreting events. He is introduced as suffering insomnia and this partially explains the scatter-brained prose. Undoubtedly, the book is powerful because even though the narrator is nearly absent in his own story – the reader feels as though they are a part of his consciousness. The book also challenges the reader psychologically — asking the question over and over whether life was valuable “without a few scars.” I finished this book quickly – within a few days – and I loved the way it made me think and still kept me on the edge of my seat.

The Book Would Have Ended  A Lot Sooner If: The narrator played more Grand Theft Auto to get some of his violent urges out. 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Fiction

Leave a Reply

